

Head Of the Institution



Dr. Naba Kumar GhoshTeacher- In-Charge
Jangipur College

Resource Persons



Prof. Samata Biswas
Department of English
Sanskrit College and University, Kolkata
Also a writer and media practitioner



Dr. Antara RayAssistant Professor,
Department of Sociology,
Presidency University, Kolkata



Dr.Kaushik Chattopadhyay, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, Prof. Syed Nurul Hasan College, Farakka, Murshidabad

JANGIPUR COLLEGE

Jangipur, Murshidabad, West Bengal

One Day State Level Seminar

"Women's Leadership and Global Politics"

Date: 8th March (Tuesday), 2022

Time: 10.30 AM

Organized by

Women's Cell in Collaboration with IQAC, Jangipur College

Patron



Mr. Abdul Quader
President, Governing Body
Jangipur College,
Ex. District and Sessions Judge, Bankura,
Ex Presiding Officer WAKF Tribunal,
W.B. Ex.President,
District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum,
Darjeeling and Birbhum

Treasurer



Dr. Rajib Joarder,Assistant Professor,
Department of
Chemistry,
Jangipur College

Joint Coordinator



Mr. Prasenjit Mistry Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Jangipur College

Organizing Secretary



Dr. Bikash Kumar Panda
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
IQAC Coordinator
Jangipur College

Convener



Dr. Chumki ChowdhuryAssistant Professor
Department of Botany,
Jangipur College

Joint Convener



Mrs. Dalia Saha Assistant Professor Department of Physics, Jangipur College

Coordinator



Mr. Keshab Chandra Ghosh Assistant Professor Department of History,

Jangipur College

Advisory Committee Members:

Prof. Pritimoy Majumdar, Associate Professor in Commerce

Dr. Basudeb Chakrabarti, Associate Professor in English

Mr. Koushik Singha, Honourable Member, G.B.

Mr. Syed Abdus Sadek, Honourable Member, G.B.

Mr. Soidul Miah, Honourable Member, G.B.

Mr. Mrityunjay Sinha, Honourable Member, G. B.

Organizing Committee Members:

Mrs. Gangotri Bhattacharya, Assistant Professor in Political Science

Mrs. Ranita Mitra, Assistant Professor in Philosophy

Mr. Tanmoy Ruidas, Assistant Professor in English

Dr. Sushmita Roy, Assistant Professor in Chemistry

Dr. Ashis Mondal, Assistant Professor in Mathematics

About the Seminar

This is a state-level seminar on women's leadership in the context of world politics. World politics is dominated by men till date, but participation and representation of women in direct politics both at the national and global level is not up to the mark. Such an under-representation of women in politics is caused by a number of obstacles including gender discrimination, poverty, social marginalisation etc. But despite all these socio-political and economic barriers, contemporary history of the world has witnessed a few prominent women figures whose contribution to both the regional and global politics is no less paramount. This seminar will focus on the role and performance of women leaders in international political arena beyond their regional spheres. This seminar will also provide us with a number of valuable perspectives on women leadership and address some crucial issues like the limitations, challenges and barriers of female leaders in their political life. The seminar will throw some light, too, on the dynamics of feminist politics, a politics which has furnished the women leaders throughout the world with an intellectual vigour to confront all-round patriarchal set-up of society. It is ardently hoped that this seminar will add erudite knowledge to the problematics and prospects of women leadership on a global scale and serve as a platform for the future women leaders.

Registration link: https://forms.gle/5v6M98vT3PDa5xVg9

Last date of Registration: 6th March, 2022 (Midnight). Registration fees: For Student Rs. 100/-; Teacher: Rs.200/- and Oral Presenter: Rs. 300/-. Registration may be done through the registration link by depositing the registration fees to the following account through NEFT/RTGS or Mobile/NET Banking:

Bank Account Details:

State Bank of India, Jangipur Town Branch

A/C No: 34781139383 IFS Code: SBIN0013444

Registration may also be done through the offline mode by filling up the registration form and by directly submitting the registration fees to the convenors:

&

Dr. Chumki Chowdhury

Assistant Professor Department of Botany, Jangipur College Mrs. Dalia Saha

Assistant Professor Department of Physics, Jangipur College

Those who are interested for oral presentation should send their abstract to the following mail id s:

- 1. chowdhurychumki@gmail.com
- 2. daliasahamandal1983@gmail.com

Abstract must be written in English, Author must indicate his or her name, designation, institute name, E-Mail id etc. (within one A4 page, Font: Times New Roman, Font Size: 12 point, within 300 words)

Programme Schedule (8th March 2022)

Inaugural Session (10:30 am - 11:15 am)

10:30 am – Introductory Speech by Mr. Abdul Quader, President, Governing Body, Jangipur College

10:45 am – Welcome address by Dr. Naba Kumar Ghosh, TIC, Jangipur College

11:00 am – Keynote address by Dr. Bikash Kumar Panda, IQAC Coordinator, Jangipur College

Technical Session 1 (11:15 am – 12:00 noon)

Lecture 1

Prof. Samata Biswas
Department of English
Sanskrit College and University, Kolkata
Also a writer and media practitioner

<u>Interactive Session 1</u> (12:00 noon – 12:15 pm)

<u>Technical Session 2 (12:15 pm – 1:00 pm)</u>

Lecture 2

Dr. Antara Ray
Assistant Professor,
Department of Sociology,
Presidency University, Kolkata

Topic of Lecture: Women and Political Participation in context to India

<u>Interactive Session 2</u> (1:00 pm – 1:15 pm)

Lunch Break (1:15 pm-2:00 pm)

<u>Technical Session 3 (2:00 pm – 2:45 pm)</u>

Lecture 3

Dr. Kaushik Chattopadhyay, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, Prof. Syed Nurul Hasan College, Farakka, Murshidabad

Topic of Lecture: Women Empowerment and Political Culture

Interactive Session 3 (2.45 pm- 3:00 pm)

Technical Session 4: Oral Presentations to be chaired by Dr. Kaushik Chattopadhyay **3 pm–3.10 pm:** Introductory notes by Mr. Keshab Chandra Ghosh, Coordinator, TCS, Jangipur College.

Oral presentation (3:10 pm – 4:00 pm)

Concluding note (4 pm - 4.10 pm)

Mrs. Dalia Saha, Assistant Professor in Physics (Joint Convenor), Jangipur College

Vote of thanks (4:10 pm – 4:20 pm)

Dr. Chumki Chowdhury, Assistant Professor in Botany (Convenor), Jangipur College